Staff

Robin Allen

INTERIM EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
robina@calyouthconn.org

Robin Allen has returned as CYC's interim executive director. Robin has worked on the front lines supporting child welfare advocacy for decades and is committed to our work of transforming the California foster care system.

Miguel Almodavar

BAY AREA COMMUNITY ADVOCACY COORDINATOR
miguel@calyouthconn.org

Miguel is the bay area community advocacy coordinator at CYC with a bachelor's degree in Political Science from California State University East Bay and a minor in Music. He is a brother of his local chapter of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc, where he organizes regular community service opportunities for youth.

Jeannette Brock

EVENTS AND OUTREACH MANAGER
jeannette@calyouthconn.org

Jeannette currently supports the planning and implementation of CYC’s annual conferences, including Day at the Capitol and the Summer Leadership and Policy Conference. She also supervises conference volunteers and collaborates with the conference planning committee, and works closely with the development team to identify in-kind donations.

Janel Brown

OPERATIONS AND DATA MANAGER
janel@calyouthconn.org

Janel fulfills a multi-faceted role, supporting CYC’s operations, data collection, and reporting functions, which includes monitoring the implementation of our strategic plan — all key to ensuring the organization’s accomplishments.

Kenneth Brown

FAR SOUTHERN COMMUNITY ADVOCACY COORDINATOR
kenneth@calyouthconn.org

As the far southern community advocacy coordinator, Kenny’s primary responsibilities include promoting leadership development, strengthening chapter processes, facilitating community and advocacy efforts, building local relationships to strengthen access to decision-makers to build the social capitol of members, and increase visibility for funding opportunities, and developing curriculum and training materials.

Janay Eustace

DEPUTY DIRECTOR
janaye@calyouthconn.org

Janay is a former member of the Sacramento Chapter and has served in many CYC roles over the years. In her role as Deputy Director she plans to continue putting members ideas and vision first, support community building, and support work to strengthen member impact and voice locally and statewide.

Makayla James

FAR NORTHERN COMMUNITY ADVOCACY COORDINATOR
makayla@calyouthconn.org

Makayla is a former member of the Butte Chapter, which she became involved in during her time as a college student. She was drawn to California Youth Connection due to her interest in policy and her passion for creating change within the foster care system.

Meribe Martin

ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR
meribe@calyouthconn.org

Meribe coordinates an extensive array of duties for the policy team, including travel logistics for Policy Parties, Curriculum Development, Shadow Day, YTP and other important events. She maintains the administrative workflow, implementing procedures that support CYC staff and members.

Yaasmin Mauris

HUMAN RESOURCES ADMINISTRATOR
yaasmin@calyouthconn.org

As Human Resources Administrator for CYC, Yaasmin ensures that the organization cultivates a continuous learning environment, is compliant with the most recent labor laws and HR practices, and cultivates and upholds a strong team to implement our youth-led mission and vision.

Marissa Miller

CHIEF PHILANTHROPY AND STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS OFFICER
mmiller@calyouthconn.org

As the Chief Philanthropy & Strategic Partnerships Officer, Marissa is responsible for the organization's overall fundraising strategy, cultivating and maintaining relationships with key funders and stakeholders, and bringing CYC's youth-led vision to life.

Toshie Narita

DIRECTOR OF FINANCE
toshie@calyouthconn.org

Toshie manages the financial side of CYC including Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable and Payroll. Currently, she is finishing on bringing all of CYC’s financial systems in house, expertly customizing the functions for CYC’s needs.

Blade Oestreich

CENTRAL VALLEY COMMUNITY ADVOCACY COORDINATOR
blade@calyouthconn.org

As a child welfare advocate, Blade is most passionate about promoting leadership development, strengthening chapter processes, facilitating community and advocacy efforts, building local relationships to strengthen access to decision-makers to build the social capital of members, and increase visibility for funding opportunities, and developing curriculum and training materials.

Jordan Sosa

STATEWIDE LEGISLATIVE COORDINATOR
jordan@calyouthconn.org

Jordan Sosa is a former member of the California Youth Connection (CYC) Orange County Chapter and currently serves as a Legislative Coordinator. He got connected with CYC through the Guardian Scholars Program at Cal State Fullerton.

KATE TEAGUE

LEAD COMMUNITY ADVOCACY COORDINATOR
kate@calyouthconn.org

As the Lead Community Advocacy Coordinator, Kate works with the CYC Chapters in LA County providing technical assistance to support CYC Members in developing their leadership and putting their campaigns for change into action both locally and regionally.